I left it in my other purse. This is why I never…!

2 comments

How many of you ladies out there can finish that sentence? A whole bunch of you just echoed a resounding ME!!! I was packing recently for a move/garage sale and realized the gravity of my bag obsession when I needed one large box solely for storing my large bags. To clarify, this box didn’t include my handbags or clutches, which I also needed boxes for. Now, I don’t see a problem with my owning this many purses. I love every one of them and will not give them up. No the problem, dear Reader, is that on any given day anyone who knows me could put wagers on which purse I’ll be wearing. And it won’t be difficult for them to win big.

For as much as I love a beautiful tote, purse or clutch, I can’t for the life of me wear 95% of them during the course of a year. You all know why, but let me illustrate anyway.

Monday: You walk into Walgreens (or your neighborhood drug store) ready to drop dollars in the cosmetics section. But you’re no careless shopper. You’ve racked up store credit and now have four bucks off your next makeup purchase. You stuck that coupon into your bag determined to remember to use it this time. You make your choice– maybe some new blush, brush or bronzer. You get to the register feeling like a winner. You dig into your purse. You dig some more. No coupon. That’s when you remember: “I left it in my other purse. This is why I never &*%$# switch bags!” But here you are in line so what do you do? Pay full price and curse the day you tried to be a lady and switch out your purses to better match your outfit.

These scenarios happen everyday all over the country to all sorts of women, and yet, don’t we all buy that new bag always hopeful that someday we’ll be ladylike enough to wear it? And every time we accomplish that goal something gets left behind. The perfect lipgloss? In your other bag. That old Band-Aid you now need? Other bag. Tampon? Other bag. Insurance card? Other bag.

Do I have a solution for ending this vicious cycle? I wrote one down but left it in….

2 comments on “I left it in my other purse. This is why I never…!”

Leave a Reply

