“Marks” by Linda Pastan

One comment

Here’s a random poem I read a few years ago and thought was humorous and sad and thought-provoking.

 

Marks

My husband gives me an A

for last night’s supper,

a B plus in bed.

My son says I am average,

an average mother, but if

I put my mind to it

I could improve.

My daughter believes 

in Pass/Fail and tells me

I pass. Wait ’til they learn

I’m dropping out.

 

 

Do you think the title of this poem has multiple meanings?

If you like this one:

*Disclaimer- I have the hots for 19th century literature as you might notice.

The Yellow Wallpaper by Charlotte Perkins Gilman

The Story of An Hour by Kate Chopin

A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

The Vagina Monologues by Eve Ensler

The Beauty Myth: How Images of Beauty are Used Against Women by Naomi Wolf

Wide Sargasso Sea by Jean Rhys (Read Jane Eyre first)

The Joy Luck Club by Amy Tan

I could go on and on with this list but let’s save that for a later date.

1 comments on ““Marks” by Linda Pastan”

Leave a Reply

