I’d Rather Crash and Burn, Spontaneously

15 comments

A few years ago, I would’ve described myself as an eternally optimistic go-getter. I actually wasn’t that at all, but that was the way that I saw myself. A spontaneous adventurer. The reality is that I was afraid of taking chances. Real chances. I was terrified of failure. Any type of failure. Especially public failure. But there came a point when I started realizing that my life was growing ever more mundane. I began to realize that who I saw myself as wasn’t actually being reflected in anything outside of my mind. When it came to real fear, real adventure, I was scared. I played it safe. I was afraid to step out on my own and fall flat on my face.

Lately though…

IMG_3953

Lately, I’ve been freakishly optimistic and taking chances. Sometimes to a fault. Now, let’s be clear: there’s another side to being spontaneous that ain’t all glamorous; one that you don’t hear too much about. Ditching your shopping chore for a last-minute dinner with friends sometimes means coming home late and tired only to remember that toilet paper was at the top of your list of things to buy. That ain’t glamour folks! That was me the other day…

But being spontaneous also means that when my friend Krystle recently gave me the heads up that she’d found tickets to Paris for less than half the usual price, I bought them. That day. I almost don’t recognize myself. Who the hell am I? Where is Lyz?

Being spontaneous also means that I launched a separate travel blog not long ago and then realized a little over a week later that I should just pay for a premium theme that fits the content I’d like to provide, instead of stretching myself all over the internet, duh. Oops. According to the old me, I should be mortified. What a fail. A public fail at that. But the new me says, “Damn Lyz, way to jump the gun. Okay, now fix it and move on.” Oh shit. Sounds like I’m growing up and getting wiser or something. This feels strange and exhilarating. The air is kind of sparkly. So today I bought the theme, and now I’m once again editing, thinking, questioning, deciding. Best of all, anticipating. I hope you like the new setup.

I’m sharing successes and failures for a reason. You know why, Dear Reader. You know what I’m doing here.

What about you? What spontaneous moments have you experienced or decisions have you made, and how did it work out for you? I’d love to hear about it. I think we all would!

15 comments on “I’d Rather Crash and Burn, Spontaneously”

  1. My moments of spontaneity, Lyz, often lands me in trouble 🙂 Once I landed up at the hospital of a guy whom I had met along with my father and brother on a train journey. I was about 17 at the time. I had a crush on him but why I did end up at his hospital is beyond me (it is intensely embarrassing when I remember it now). Thankfully I have not repeated the same spontaneity twice over. Your impulsiveness landed you on a travel blog of your own, hey. What do I say about the joy of that?

    Liked by 2 people

      1. Hee hee hee. Well to cut it short, he was there in the hospital. He turned up in my face. What are the chances in a large hospital hostel? We started going out, I freaked out over where it was heading and I wussed out. He started appearing at my college over and over and then the last straw was when the bell rang and he arrived at my place! I pretended to be sick and stayed in bed. My parents, needless to say, were a bit taken aback but thankfully did not make much of my anti-social behaviour. That is all. Thankfully I have never met him again.

        Like

        1. Hmm idk. I was thinking I may as well just add all of my travel writing here, but then again, maybe I can do partial here and more there? God only knows what I’m doing. LOL. I’ll just calm down and stop making decisions for a while… thanks for the notion.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I like to put a lot of planning into my spontaneity. Someone said: as you grow older you gain wisdom but lose spontaneity. Have been spontaneous recently when stopped my bike in a small town to have a break, liked it and stayed the night.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Unfortunately, that seems to be the case for most adults. I think it must feel amazing to just ride your bike a bit aimlessly and stop in a new place. Our brains love change. I hope you keep doing that. Let’s not let age get us!

      Like

  3. Yes, that’s how I love to do it. I have a direction in mind but not an exact plan. I will go to mainland Europe by ferry in May and travel through France, Germany and Austria aiming to get to the Alps and won’t book accommodation until I find out where I end up at the end of each day 😊. Enjoy ur travels 👍🏼

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Ooh, I like to think I can be spontaneous, but I love to plan too much! Recently, friends took me out for a surprise night out which turned into an overnight thing. I was freaking out because I didn’t pack an overnight bag XD
    Good on you for being spontaneous!
    I also wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for the blogger recognition award!
    Check it out if you wish: https://lifeofanangela.wordpress.com/2017/04/02/the-blogger-recognition-award/ 😀

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Also, being a planner is a great trait as well. If my travel buddy for Thailand wasn’t a planner, I’m positive we would’ve been screwed in more ways than one when we get there. So many things I would never have considered. We love you kind lol 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

