The Blogger Recognition Award

7 comments

blogger recognition award

BLOG RULES:
* Thank the blogger who nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
* Write a post to show your blog award.
* Give a brief story about how your blog started.
* Give two pieces of advice to new bloggers.
* Select 15 bloggers you want to give this award to.
* Comment on each blog and let them know you have nominated them and provide a link to the post you created.

I was nominated for the Blogger Recognition Award by the adventurous Lifeofangela. You can find her over in her corner of the blogging world inspiring us with her travels. Her images are always thoughtful, and her words bring you right into the scene. You should check her out!

So the thing the people want is how I started my blog. Well, this is the point in which I should be sitting with a silk dinner jacket, cupping my smoking pipe while next to a glowing fire. My long-haired dog is at my heels, snoring. You’d think with a snout that long, air would go through aerodynamically. Anyway. I started my blog back in 2013 when I was going through some big changes in my life. I was trying to find a positive way to occupy my time and do something meaningful that I love. I saw this blog as a way to focus on the imperfect, positive parts of my life. In the beginning (very grand sounding) I wrote humorous pieces about my struggle to keep up with all of the guidelines, bylaws and expectations of womanhood; hence, I Wanna Be a Lady. The more I wrote, the more I wanted to write about. But I didn’t. I felt like if it wasn’t humorous then it didn’t belong. So I slowed down. Then I allowed life to sidetrack me, and I stopped altogether. But the urge to write and share never went away. A part of me was embarrassed to just show up out of nowhere after over a year of absence. But writing has always pulled me in many ways. Funny things just weren’t was funny when they aren’t shared, and neither were the other activities and things that inspired me. So, I bit the bullet and broadened my scope and got back to it. I’ve gotten so much positive support for it and it encourages me every day.

Which leads me to my advice to new bloggers:

  1. Everyone starts somewhere. Even when it’s nowhere. When I began writing for this blog, I was writing to the air. There were no views, no likes. I had to keep remembering the greater value that writing brings to me. The value beyond others outside myself. You’ll have small victories along the way. Those who have thousands of followers were at one point writing to 3 people. Don’t be discouraged. Write anyway. It’ll only help you to improve. In the meantime, support others. Let them know you are out there reading their work as well. There’s a reason we are a community of bloggers. Get comfortable. We welcome you.
  2. Blog writing can be very conversational and informal, But that doesn’t mean you should ignore the art of writing. Write whatever you want to write about, but remember that the moment you hit publish, you are aiming to communicate. Always think about your reader and the best way to get them to move into the story. For example, that may be through telling a story, adding rich sensory details, interesting photography, or speaking in a very honest way. Sometimes it’s not what you say but how you say it. Always remember that you want to connect.

So, to connect you to my nominees:

  1. The Cat’s Write
  2. TravellerDave
  3. Field Notes From Fatherhood
  4. Rainbows and Road Rage
  5. The History of Love
  6. Milk & Whiskey
  7. The Traveling Diary of a Dippy-Dotty Girl
  8. Logical Quotes
  9. The Shameful Sheep
  10. Broke Ass Girl Travel

I know it said 15, but it’s getting late and I won’t be back home for a while. I wanted to get this in here on the day. Thank you so much for the recognition Angela, and I hope to continue writing stuff that people want to read and getting better at it.

Truly,

Lyz-Stephanie

7 comments on “The Blogger Recognition Award”

  1. “this is the point in which I should be sitting with a silk dinner jacket, cupping my smoking pipe while next to a glowing fire” XD you have such a hilarious way of words, it always makes me laugh/snort while I’m reading your blogs. Keep it up!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Angela above makes the point for me too. Lyz, congratulations, and thank you for thinking of me! Would you throw eggs at me if I opted out? I have already done this one once. Also, those two points of advise are solid. No one can lose out by following them xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

