Piles of Books and Clothes

19 comments

So, I walked into my room last night and looked at my bed and thought, What the heck? Honestly, I shouldn’t be surprised. It’s always the same issue.

My mornings look like this:

I stare at my closet trying to figure out which type of a mood I’m in.

I settle on something and put it on.

It feels wrong.

I remove it and toss it onto the bed.

I try on something else. A skirt and shirt this time. Ugh, looks weird together. Not what I imagined. Off. Toss. Repeat.

Then there’s the other problem completely unrelated to my clothes. Books. For some reason, my books keep snuggling up on my bed, and they’re crowding me. Just yesterday I found theseย four sneaking about under the sheets. I wonder who was hooking up with who (whom?)ย They all seem so different.

I’ve just picked up this book after a few years away from it. It’s so well-written and humorous and helpful. Words Fail Me by Patricia T. O’Conner

Book Words Fail Me

There’s so much room to grow as a writer, and I haven’t begun to master the craft. I love learning new techniques. I love getting advice on grammar and word choice, avoiding common pitfalls. Writing is a passion of mine, and I always want to make sure that I’m growing. I highly recommend this book.

Bossypants by Tina Fey

Book Tina Fey Bossy Pants

It’s impossible for me to get over how hideous this book jacket is, but what’s inside are tons of anecdotal accounts of mainly everyday situations told with Tina Fey’s tongue-in-cheek humor and straight up honesty. The beauty of memoirs such as this is that I can meander through it slowly, set it down and come back to it when the mood strikes, without that feeling of being lost in a fog of, Who are these characters again?

The Prophet by Khalil Gibran

Books The Prophet Gibran

One of the greatest books I’ve ever experienced in my life. I say experienced intentionally. You can’t just read it. Khalil Gibran has, in this small book, such an incredible well of insight into life that one has to wonder how it’s possible. Each chapter is on a different aspect of life such as: Love, Work, Joy and Sorrow, Children, Reason and Passion, Freedom. These themes sound simple and he explains his ideas in a strikingly simple yet poetic way. But don’t be fooled by the simplicity. You will stop, reread, sigh and put the book up to your chest many, many times.

Horace’s Compromise by Theodore R. Sizer

Books Horace's Compromise

I found this recently and took it under my wing. I haven’t cracked it open yet, but the writings on the cover have made me curious. To be honest, I used to devour books on education. Now, I’m more than a little jaded. I’m sick of all the talk, all the meetings, all the theories. It just doesn’t seem to me that much change actually happens. The pendulum swings left; the pendulum swings right. I don’t know, though, something about the approach of this book got my attention.

Side note: I’ve written a piece on literature in the classroom that I’d like to share soon. Don’t you love the irony of me saying I’m growing tired of “education writing” while I’m preparing to thrust my own addition into the world. Maybe tomorrow? I’ve been posting some long pieces lately. I should give it a day or two.

Anyhow, tell me, Dear Reader, when your bed is a mess, which of your possessions are usually the culprit? Because, of course, it’s not your fault. They put themselves there, right?

19 comments on “Piles of Books and Clothes”

  1. I gotta say… “Piles of Books and Clothes”….that’s my kinda blogpost title ๐Ÿ˜‰ I think I literally squealed at the thought of what this blogpost would contain hehe. and you did not disappoint! I gotta get my hands on that writing book now!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. YES!!! I am sooo happy to hear that, Amy. You’ve made me so happy. I wrote the title as a filler title, but when it came to publish it, I couldn’t think of anything more appropriate. Funny how life works. When you aren’t trying….

      Like

  2. My GOODNESS woman! You sure have lots of bed-partners! ๐Ÿ˜›

    I’m likely not the avid reader you are Lyz, but once every 2-3 months I will have a book I’m into near the bed IF it is not the latest National Geographic magazine — May’s issue is on Albert Einstein; L-O-V-E- IT! My current book is… get ready to yawn… Agnotology: The Making & Unmaking of Ignorance. Hahaha. I do love challenging, cutting-edge books on all the Humanities, my major in college, if it isn’t history, self-help-how-to, or the latest in the Alt-lifestyles. However, I must admit that your Tina Fey book (adore her!) and Words Fail Me are most definitely going to be seriously considered! Thank you Lyz! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I definitely should be keeping up with my Humanities much more so that I am now. I’ve got to go through my bookshelves… I saw that Time issue, but I’m so cheap I only ever get them if I am knocked over by it. But you say you L-O-V-E- IT? (I don’t know about your hyphen after the E. Or is a hyphen just missing after the I?) I’m not trying to be a dick, I’m genuinely wondering. ๐Ÿ™‚ You’re considering a book because of my humble suggestion is an honor. And humbling? Or am I just supposed to say that?

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Everyone has their individual appetites; it’s what makes this world endlessly intriguing, mystifying, sometimes daunting, and certainly funny! We can learn or read EVERYTHING in a lifetime can we? ๐Ÿ˜‰ LOL

        My hyphen-iatus? It gets out of hand sometimes. My apologies if I spread it; the doctor told me it WASN’T contagious, but then I think she was referring to pen-and-paper. Whoops! There it is again, damn it!

        No Lyz! Be proud! I do consider you a wonderful book-worm-full-of-great-ideas… Grrrrr (another flair-up!)… and suggestions! ๐Ÿ˜€

        Liked by 1 person

            1. Oh oh! Semicolon wants more playing time, eh? And Exclamation Mark, well… I thought I thought she was the Head Coach! Always screaming and yelling everywhere as if THAT’S motivation! Pffft! ๐Ÿ˜›

              Liked by 1 person

            2. For full disclosure, I’m in love with Semicolon. Exclamation… I hate being yelled at. There’s this essay titled “Notes on Punctuation” by Lewis Thomas. It’s so freaking good. You’ll love it if you’re into punctuation. Read it either way!

              Liked by 1 person

        1. It’s really funny, once I was introduced to Emily Dickinson, I was dropping dashes like they were periods. I love dramatic dashes (the wait-for-it-here-it-comes type of dashes.) There’s so many good things to read; it’s infuriating. I’ll keep in mind that you don’t mind my suggestions ๐Ÿ™‚

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Hahahaha! That’s too funny. (drops a beat down for effect)
            “Dropping dashes” like periods, not Morse Code… Step up, and free yo mind… This weird ditty barely rhymes! Yikes! ๐Ÿ˜ฎ

            Yes, you can call the local asylum, tell them one of their patients has escaped and is terrorizing WordPress.

            Liked by 1 person

  3. I think it’s not that you’ve grown tired of education, but just of all of the bull that has gotten heaped onto education. The fact is that most teachers do truly love to teach, it’s the other crap that wearies us. I look forward to your lit piece.

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

