New Books to My Collection

18 comments

Not long ago, I shared that I had gone to the used bookstore and brought home a new bundle of book babies. They’ve been getting cozy, and now I’d like to show them to you all.

I have one or two copies of Robinson Crusoe already, but I couldn’t resist the raised texture of the cover. I love old fabric covers, and this one is so pretty. Had to have it.

Robinson Crusoe by Daniel Defoe used book older copy

Instantly knew that this book was coming with me. Here I was buying books that I barely had room for and I stumble on this. It was meant to be.

Women Who Love Books Too Much by Brenda Knight

I love reading about the lives of artists, particularly writers because I strive to be a good one and it’s my field. I’ve heard a lot of talk about Hemingway over the years. I know that he lived a unique and adventurous life, and I’d like to know a bit more about it.

Ernest Hemingway A Life Story

I’m a big fan of historical fiction and I haven’t picked up or read anything in the genre for some time. I’d like to give myself the treat of traveling to a different time, so Portrait of an Unknown Woman will assist me. Also, let’s be honest, this book is so pretty.

Portrait of an Unknown Woman by Vanora Bennett

Speaking of traveling, I thought Without Reservations would be a good place to start reading more travel memoirs since one of my goals is to be a better travel writer and memoirist. I was positive that memoirist would get flagged by my spellchecker, but lo and behold. Anyway, this is written by a single woman on a journey of discovering and relying on herself through travel. I like the idea and can use the inspiration.

Without Reservations by Alice Steinbach

Who doesn’t like a bit of humor coupled with an excellent writing style? Carl Hiaasen has a good one for us here with Skinny Dip. A comedian who takes his writing seriously. I like it.

Skinny Dip by Carl Hiaasen

On a more serious note, those of you who have read my fiction know that I’m a huge fan of dystopic literature. I think that almost every human at this point can relate to the messages presented. I’m always eager to see how different writers approach the genre. I’m very excited to get engrossed in the psyche and culture of We Were The Mulvaneys by Joyce Carol Oates.

 

We Were the Mulvaneys by Joyce Carol Oates

I am all for expanding my mind, learning new ways to analyze and write. Book like this, sort of textbook/conversation hybrids are very well-suited to my temperament. I would love to be a student all of my life, and this book Reading Like a Writer will be another thing to help me do just that.

Reading Like a Writer by Francine Prose

Another work of nonfiction Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds definitely promises to be not only entertaining but full of insight into human behavior. I love studying human behavior; it’s endlessly fascinating to me. I have another similar book about the nonsensical trends that have destroyed people in one swift motion. I’d like to cross-reference the two and see what gaps I missed.

Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the madness of Crowds by Charles Mackay, LL. D.

Have I told you that I am a HUGE fan of satire? I love satire to death. It is, to me, the most perfect art form when done well. I can never get my fill of the genre. I remember reading Tartuffe in college and being utterly in love. I can’t wait to see what the brilliance the brilliant Moliere has in store for me with The Misanthrope.

Moliere The Misanthrope and Tartuffe

I haven’t read any of Judy Blume’s adult writing, but the New York Times Book Review (which I greatly admire and think everyone should read) calls her revolutionary with this book In the Unlikely Event. How can I pass that up? “The pure shock and wonder of living” is not about to get passed over by me. I’m excited for discovery.

In the Unlikely Event by Judy Blume

Speaking of life, H.G. Wells, and company have outdone themselves with The Science of Life.Β I mainly use huge books such as this one as a weight for my pressed flowers. I’m kidding, that’s not all it’ll be used for. When I’m looking for something interesting and science related, maybe a launching pad or just a bit of information to feed my curiosity, I’ll pick up something like this.

The Science of Life H.G. Wells, Huxley

Finally, a book that I should have read a long time ago. Tony Morrison’s Beloved. For the accolades that this book has received and the way that it speaks directly to my race and womanhood, there is no reason why I haven’t read it before. I have a feeling that it will require a good deal of thinking and attention. I don’t want to pick it up before I’m ready to fully commit to it, but I’ll have to make that soon.

Toni Morrison Beloved

That’s it for now folks. As promised, I’ll keep these book highlights short and sweet for you. You’ll either be interested or you won’t. Thankfully, there are millions of books in the world.

Are there any of these books that have caught your interest? What have you been reading lately?

18 comments on “New Books to My Collection”

  1. Cheila! You have such wonderful bookstores in Lisbon where they do sell second-hand books. Take yourself there girl. I chanced upon Pessoa and Verde there. Lyz, those books love gorgeous. Would I possess powers of engulfing books through the screen, I would be a happy woman and you not so ecstatic πŸ˜› Especially eyeing that copy of Robinson Crusoe.

    Like

        1. Oh my goodness, I’m halfway through reading it bow and it is already one of my favorites. His use of language and dark humor and storytelling. I get goosebumps constantly. I’m in love! Saw the movie years ago but it cannot compete.

          Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my STARS! I love all these titles you’ve listed. Very intriguing books and abstracts you offer. Thanks!

    I am VERY interested in hearing about your thoughts/feelings on Beloved. I thoroughly enjoy any epic drama on controversial(?) social topics and ignorance. Regarding my recent reads lately? Here’s the abbreviated list, current, to almost done, to finished…

    1. Agnotology: The Making and Unmaking of Ignorance
    2. Gay, Straight, and the Reason Why: The Science of Sexual Orientation
    3. The Sway of Contentedness: Contemplation and Mental Culture for Ghosts & Ordinary Folk
    4. Steinbeck: A Life in Letters
    5. Great Expectations by Charles Dickens
    6. John F. Kennedy: The Making of His Inaugural Address
    7. Against Our Better Judgment: The Hidden History of How the U.S. was Used to Create Israel
    8. How Should We Live?: Great Ideas from the Past for Everyday Life
    9. The Price of Inequality: How Today’s Divided Society Endangers Our Future
    10. Colin Powell: My American Journey (a biography)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You must be a fast reader to be getting through all of these. I’ve always been a terribly slow reader, though I don’t care to complain. I see that you like psychology and the social studies.

      I’m particularly interested in the road to Kennedy’s Address, Steinbeck’s letters. Keep up the great reading.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Well, to be honest these books cover the last 12-18 months. Hahaha. And you nailed it… I’m definitely a fan of psychology, social studies, history, philosophy, and social sciences too. Fiction (unless super enthralling like V for Vendetta) usually doesn’t interest me. I guess that’s my pragmatic realtist side, maybe? πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Popular Delusions is going to join my library right beside Descartes, if I can find it. Thanks

    Best Hemingway as a person is “Green Hills of Africa.” It defines him as a man, but I liked “To Have and Have Not.” Hard read, but a good story about the title.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

