5 Things I Love at Home

25 comments

Hello everyone and happy Saturday. As I’ve been going through the process of renovating and decorating my home, I’ve been focusing on the aspects of it that I already love, not just my home’s future potential. So today I’m bringing you my second posting of 5 Things I Love at Home. I hope you like it!

My Pressed Flowers.

I love collecting wildflowers on camping trips and sometimes pressing them between the pages of my journal. In the case of these larger flowers, I needed something a bit heavier. Thick books. I think they’ve turned out quite nicely. My plan it to frame them at some point. I was thinking a white background, but now that I’ve seen them against this pretty colored one, I’ve changed my mind.

Dried Flowers

20170701_09410320170701_094127My dried flowers

20170701_094156

My Pink Lantern.

I found this beauty at a thrift store a few years back. I had just moved into a condo, my first solo place, and I was starting over from scratch. This was one of the first pieces that I bought. I loved how feminine it was, and it was the starting point of my being able to decorate exactly as I wanted. No restrictions. It’s been a great adventure ever since.

20170701_101106

My Buffet Table turned TV stand.

I paid about $30 for this at a thrift store. I bought it because in this old house with it’s lack of walk-in closets, I was desperate for storage. I haven’t learned the art of minimalism in clothing. If I opened the doors on this, you’d see that it’s full of all my jeans and other pants. Pretty clever, don’t you think? I gone back and forth many times on whether to paint this piece. I’ve finally decided that I will. Maybe white with grey inserts? We’ll see what happens.

Buffet table/ tv stand

This sweet flower vase.

I love pretty things like this flower vase that I found on clearance at Target about a month ago. The soft colors are lovely and the little specks of black adds a bit of earthiness that makes it more interesting.

20170701_094345

My old library signs.

A few years ago, my job was updating it’s library and decided that these old signs were too passΓ© to make it into the remodel. I saw these collecting dust in a crevice between some filing cabinets and I circled them for a few days before asking the authorities what the plan for them was. Their destiny was the trash, and I am now their new mother.

eclectic living room
I put this sign above the living room sofa because, well, that’s where we get social.

20170701_11035520170701_110312eclectic home design

That’s all for today, folks. I hope you like some of the things that I find special in my own home. Keep striving to surround yourself with beauty. As you can see, it doesn’t have to be an expensive endeavor.

25 comments on “5 Things I Love at Home”

    1. It feels so much better when it doesn’t cost a week’s paycheck, right? I think the tv stand was originally a buffet for a kitchen, but we’ve gotta make the best of our situations lol. Thanks for the love 😊

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Girl I know that’s right. Haha. I’m always trying to save a buck when I can. I go thrift shopping quite often. Another mans trash is another mans treasure. Except… I’m a woman. But you get it. Hahaha. You’re welcome.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve grown to love pressing flowers. I think I’ll have an obsession soon. I’ve also got homemade paintings around the house. I think it’s so cool to have our own art to look at too.

      Like

      1. All of three of the paintings that are hung in my room are school paintings: one done in class (high school) and two done through student activities (college).

        There is nothing wrong with having an obsession. Obsessions can lead into a passion in so many ways. I know that through experience. My obsession of Les Mis turned my love of musicals that I developed growing up into a passion.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

