iwannabealady.wordpress.com

Random Thoughts

It’s time for random thoughts because my brain is an oven filled with half-baked ideas and fully baked nonsense.

Doth I profess too much? It’s a question I always have about myself. I wonder if I talk too much? Do you ever wonder that? There’s always lessons about the power of silence that I think I’m failing. Let me look some up now. George Bernard Shaw looks promising. He’s on a roll with these two.

“Silence is the most perfect expression of scorn.” – George Bernard Shaw

“Choose silence of all the virtues, for by it you hear other men’s imperfections, and conceal your own. – George Bernard Shaw

I mean, if this quote doesn’t convince you of the merits of silence than I don’t know what will. But just because I found so many good quotes in my 5 minutes of searching, I’ll share a few more.

“Blessed is the man who, having nothing to say, abstains from giving us wordy evidence of the fact. – George Eliot, Impressions of Theophrastus Such

“Nothing strengthens authority so much as silence.” – Leonardo da Vinci

“Silence is one of the hardest arguments to refute.” – Josh Billings

I love throwing bullshit back in people’s faces as much as the next person, but sometimes keeping quiet is the best remedy for our time and our sanity.

I haven’t read a Shakespeare play other than Romeo and Juliet in a while. I should probably get onto something. I find that I need regular exposure to keep my brain and ears tuned. I’d love to go back to school one day and take up more literature courses and I wouldn’t want to be rusty. Already I know that my mind is squeaking down the road like a beat up old car. It desperately needs a tune up.

Right now I’m having one of these strong cravings for something to eat, but I don’t know what. Don’t you hate those types of cravings? I want to scream, “Craving, show yourself! What are you?” I’d stand screaming up at the sky, my fist held high. Or maybe I should be looking down since cravings are more earthly. I’ll hold my fist down by my waist.

I think the craving that I’m having is for a baguette with butter and jam. I was trying to fool myself earlier, telling myself that it must be something that I already have n the house because I don’t want to go shopping. But what I want is fluffy on the inside and crusty on the outside bread and I don’t have any here. I do have flatbread but that’s a joke in comparison. What can compete with the texture of bread? I can’t think of anything. Bread is the best thing period.

I was talking about my writing before. Here’s where I flair my nostrils and kick a wall. My writing these days is like my spirited horse who’s gotten away from me. I’m offering the sunrise, but she wants the sunset, and there’s nothing that can be done about that. It’s like relationships. Sometimes two people love each other but they just feel at home in different lifestyles. It’s okay. Everyone’s happiness matters.

Just like physical muscles, mental and creative muscles need to be exercised often. You should go write that down. Do some mental and creative exercises. I know you have a to-do list. If you were to ever follow my to-do lists, you’d think I had died every 3-4 days. Monday: To Do. Tuesday: To Do. Wednesday: To Do. Thursday, where’d she go? 

But they always resurface 8 months later when I’m trying to be different… I’m working on it.

I keep forgetting to start yoga. This week will be the week. I wonder if morning yoga or evening yoga is better. I’m thinking morning. It’s probably good for the digestion or something. Everything is good for the digestion. There’s always the option of a mid-afternoon session. Might help in reinvigorating me or something or other. I just want to feel good like I used to. My journey back to fitness is slow but steady. Just keep pushing. Just keep pushing.

I planned to work on projects outdoors today but since I’ve woken up the skies have been dark and looming. I wish I was in Colorado. I can’t wait to get there in the spring or summer one day. I will do it. I will sit in a field and stare at the sky. Secret? One of the things I look most forward to in life is riding a horse through an open meadow filled with wildflowers. I want it so bad! Ugh. One day.

Thanks so much for bearing with me while I exercise my writing muscles until my wild writer brain decides to come back to me and work through our issues. She thinks I’m looking for perfection.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12 thoughts on “Random Thoughts

  1. I adore George Eliot, she had such grace with her words and William Shakespeare has always been a favourite. I can honestly say I don’t talk too much, probably not enough. I like silence too much, I find it comforting and refreshing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think part of the reason that I Stay on my own so much is because I love silence so much. When I’m around other people everything I wanted to say just starts pouring out lol. And anytime I’ve been around people for too many hours I have to get away and not hear voices. As you say comforting and refreshing. ☺

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment