The Hunt For My Next Book

At any given time you’ll find that I have bookmarks in 4, 5 or 6 different books. I start one, pick up another, pick up another, return to the second, talk about the third, revisit the third, pick another, ad infinitum. I like having variety, and I like reading what I’m in the mood for; however, it’d also be great to actually finish some stuff.

So I made it a goal to read for 30 minutes before bed each night, no matter what. I could dabble in whatever I wanted to during the day, but nighttime was reserved for a single book of my choice. Well, I just finished my first book with this new disciplined system and I feel just as proud as an Olympian on opening ceremony night. I’m embarrassed by my generous sense of accomplishment. But it’s something that I’d love to keep feeling. And there’s the added benefit of a complete story, the comfort of a complete circle.

I thought that the 30 minutes every night was the hard part, but it turns out that choosing my next book is the legit roll up my sleeves challenge. What to read next? Have I told you that I own hundreds of books? Have I told you that I love them all and bought them all for the reason that I’d love to read them? How am I supposed to do this?

Full Disclosure: I’m already one week off the wagon because I haven’t been able to decide. You may tell me what you think, but there’s no guarantee that I’ll listen. You heard me. I don’t have to listen to you!

Sorry, I’m a bit sensitive about my reading material. That won’t happen again. So here’s my plan.

Step One: Narrow down the number of books. I’ve decided to choose one bookshelf and pick from only the first two shelves.

Step Two: Choose the books that I feel most drawn to or in the mood for from these two shelves.

Step Three: Take one off of the list.

Step Four: Pick one.

Okay, so here we go.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger

First book is America’s Women by Gail Collins.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger Americas Women Gail Collins

I first read parts of this book in college as part of a Women’s Studies course. The professor selected chapters to be read and I’ve never completed it. This book is endlessly interesting, showing women’s lives and roles in society from the colonists to the sexual revolution.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger Americas Women Gail Collins

20171205_1521561256660062.jpg

The next book is The Age of Conversation by Benedetta Craveri.

20171201_121440574216682.jpg

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger the age of conversation benedetta craveri

I started this a couple of years back and you already know what happened. I love books that look into the lives and customs of people in other times. I goes to show that many things we consider to be a given is just part of our societal construct. Anyhow, I’m interested in women doing interesting things.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger the age of conversation benedetta craveri

Next up is The Souls of Black Folks by W.E.B. Du Bois.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger the souls of black folk w.e.b. du bois

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger the souls of black folk

This book sounds like a profound collections of essays. We are all stories and it’s so clarifying and connecting to hear the stories of others, to better understand.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger the souls of black folk w.e.b. du bois

Next up is Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D.H. Lawrence.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger lady chatterley's lover by D.H. Lawrence

Yet another book that I started and haven’t completed. I remember there being a very clear and honest way of describing the nature of people and I like that. Plus, I’m always a fan of discontented women in literature.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger lady chatterley's lover by D.H. Lawrence

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger lady chatterley's lover by D.H. Lawrence

Next is Guns, Germs and Steel by Jared Diamond.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger guns, germs, and steel

Given to me as a gift, I’ve been yearning to dive into this epic history of civilization. I’m a big fan of history.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger guns, germs, and steel

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger guns, germs, and steel by Jared Diamond

This book has been tugging at me for a while. not to mention I have a connection to the author. Three degrees of separation.  Little Children by Tom Perrotta.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger little children Tom Perrotta

Suburban dystopia? Yes, pretty please.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger little children Tom Perrotta

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger little children Tom Perrotta

And the final book, Rosencrantz and Guildenstern Are Dead. A play by Tom Stoppard.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger rosencrantz and guildenstern are dead by Tom Stoppard

Hamlet is my favorite play so I was already interested. Brilliant and funny is one of my favorite combinations. And it’s the shortest of the books, so I’d get to be tormented again sooner. Also, I haven’t read a play in a very long time.

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger rosencrantz and guildenstern are dead by Tom Stoppard

iwannabealady.com book lovers collection choosing a new book lifestyle blogger rosencrantz and guildenstern are dead by Tom Stoppard

And those are my choices Dear Book Lovers. I’ll update you one the one that I chose probably on social media.

Side note: Besides Guns, Germs, and Steel which was a gift from my friend Ron, all of these books were purchased by me from my favorite used bookstore. I say this because they may or may not be found in your local bookstore.

I hope that sharing my technique might help some of you struggling with the same issue to work through your own collection and make a decision already. And stick to it!

Which book has got you itching to reach into your screen and pull it out?


 

If you like what you’re reading and think I’m a cool chick, please like, comment and share. And don’t forget to find me on the other side! Instagram I Twitter I Pinterest

My name is Lyz-Stephanie and I want to inspire you to live a more interesting, fulfilling and beautiful life. Think of me as your well-being and happiness guide. Every day we can do something to make our lives happier and richer, make our minds more active and engaged. I’m on the journey. Will you join me?

 

12 thoughts on “The Hunt For My Next Book

  1. Guns, Germs, and Steel is an interesting book and the theory makes you think. I also have enjoyed RosenKrantz & Guildenstern Are Dead. It has been a long while since I read that. I may have to revisit that one as well.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love that you’ve read two of these books already. I love revisiting old books because there’s always so much that we don’t remember. Both books are so different and I’m hoping to make a choice by tomorrow night!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Girl, I’ve just read the most amazing book: Song of praise for a flower by Fengxian Chu. This Chinese lady put her memories and hardships endured for many years in China, under the numerous political changes, famines, war into paper and it’s just beautiful. A true story about strength, love and pain. I recommend it 100% once you have some time. I’m also going through a ton of books at the same times as always, Lady Chatterley’s Lover being one of them. Little children is absolutely amazing as a film, I didn’t even know it was a book. I’m happy because I’ve been reading so much for the past few weeks, which hadn’t happened in years. We kind of have a similar taste in books too 😊 love you, boo.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. It sounds like it promises some profound moments and lessons. I love true stories and how the shed light on the human condition from such a detailed specific place. Yet it always speaks to everyone in ways. It’s nice to hear that you’ve been reading so much. Yes, a little fiction, historical, classics, nonfiction, essays. A little bit of everything, right? 😃

      Like

  3. I have 11 books on the shelf from 2011 that I haven’t read. When my son grows up, you better believe I will read one per week. I also have three college readers I kept that have 4,000 pages of everything. One day….

    I never felt smarter than when I read every day. But for now, I am well-versed in Marvel/DC Comics, Star Wars, Paw Patrol and Peppa Pig.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re probably like me and do a lot of online reading, ect., but there’s nothing like a book…. all that elaboration 😍 I’m moving into well-versed in Haters Back Off and Backstage. It’s the preteens for my household. Admit it, though, that stuff is all pretty entertaining. Don’t you get caught following along with the plot? 😀

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment